Writing What You Know

A Defining Moment

As a Freshman in college I thought I knew exactly what I was going to major in, accounting. Since I was little my dad had always told me I was great with keeping track of  the coins I would get from various chores and I would put them in a piggybank on my desk. I even recorded all of the different coins and had the total amount listed in a notebook, which I would meticulously edit any time I used the money for something. As I got older I felt I had a strong inclination for math and even decided to take a calculus course my first semester in college.

What I quickly found out was that I was not only terrible at calculus, but I hated it more than any class I’d ever taken before. None of the problems I was doing made sense to me, in a real-world context or even just the class. One day near finals I was sitting in my room close to tears because I didn’t understand a thing I learned that semester, when I realized I loathed math. I hated anything to do with number crunching, problem solving and finding “x”. That was the day I realized I no longer wanted to be an accounting major. On top of this, I realized I wasn’t trying to be a CPA for myself, but because my dad wanted me to since I had an affinity for numbers when I was a child.

I called my dad that day and told him I hated math and anything to do with it and there was no way I would ever want to be an Accountant. Not to get me wrong, accounting is great for some but it just wasn’t for me. Anyways, I was surprised to learn that my dad was supportive of whatever major I chose and it felt great to have that freedom. Finally after a long Christmas break, I decided I would be a Business major but would focus my strength on marketing courses. I had always enjoyed being around people and marketing classes almost felt natural for me while I was in them. To this day I am still happy with the major I chose and even happier it isn’t accounting.

Voice: I use a past tense with a more proper form of English. My tone is still casual but also relatable. I changed a lot of the tenses since some were in present and I chose to take out some cliches and idioms.

source of image: http://accounting.jjconline.net/

Standard

Leave a comment